Advice on buying Powerbook.

T

totolee

Looking for your advice on buying Powerbook. I am new to Mac and tired of rebooting my Win Me everyday.

My needs:
1. Internet.
2. Photoediting by Photoshop CS.
3. Some DV editing.
4. Word/Excel
5. DVD burn for photos backup and DV.
6. Portability, may bring it on vacation to store photos, I shoot a lot.

Concerns:
1. I found 512M very borderline for running PSCS, I am using 1G ram and feel just ok. Upgrading needs an extra HK$2400, do people editing photos do the same? Or they upgrade by themselves?
2. Is 17" that portable? Or should I buy the 15"?
3. Some says the Powerbook is going to upgrade soon, should I wait for that?
4. It seems the high den era is coming, TV, DV, do you think I should consider this or is it just too distant to consider now?

Thanks a million.

OP
L

Lasha

I suggest you wait until January. That's whe Apple's going to announce the new updated PowerBooks. Also, 512MB of RAM should be just enough, but if you want to be safe and go with the high specs, go ahead. You won't be making any mistakes. I would suggest the 15inch as that is what I will be getting soon, as well. The 17inch in my opinion is too big. The 15inch is just right, and powerful, hence its name. And yes, especially after the upcoming update.

Reaction score
I'm slowly sinking in the posts of Mac-forums
Your Mac's Specs
PowerBook 12" Combo Drive/867 MHz/256 MB RAM/40 GB hard drive/Mac OS X 10.3.5/AirPort Extreme it sux
Lasha said:
I suggest you wait until January. That's whe Apple's going to announce the new updated PowerBooks. Also, 512MB of RAM should be just enough, but if you want to be safe and go with the high specs, go ahead. You won't be making any mistakes. I would suggest the 15inch as that is what I will be getting soon, as well. The 17inch in my opinion is too big. The 15inch is just right, and powerful, hence its name. And yes, especially after the upcoming update.