which pro

Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first post and would welcome any replies

i am a photographer and I have a macbook pro but i am looking to buy a mac pro as my business is expanding. Whilst i love my macbook Pro it is struggling to process the files at speed from my new Canon Mark 11. I work a lot in aperture and regularly handle 1000 plus Raw images.

Any advice on the new Mac pro specs that i would need would be welcome (quad/8 core, Ram size, Hard drives etc?)

Also just wondered if extra hard drives were easy too install?

Many Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2013 rMBP, i7, 750m gpu, OSX versions 10.9.3, 10.10
Hi! And welcome to the forums!

i am a photographer and I have a macbook pro but i am looking to buy a mac pro as my business is expanding. Whilst i love my macbook Pro it is struggling to process the files at speed from my new Canon Mark 11. I work a lot in aperture and regularly handle 1000 plus Raw images.
Any advice on the new Mac pro specs that i would need would be welcome (quad/8 core, Ram size, Hard drives etc?)
Also just wondered if extra hard drives were easy too install?

Ok, before you do anything - find what the software you are using recommends - not requires, recommends. I know aperature recommends at least 2 gigs on a mac pro

Some programs can be a bit misleading about amount of ram you might need - in your case, you already know your current laptop is struggling - I'd run your program and do your work, and us the system utilities to see how much ram, swap and processor power you are using.