Which macbook should I get? Thorough question..

Reaction score
I was wondering what type of MacBook I should get (white, air, pro).
Don't recommend me to a Windows machine..I'm using one...I've used them all my life.

I'm a high school student who wants to make the switch from Windows to OS X and I feel like now is a good time since Lion is coming (or it may be here, I don't know)

I have a 2008 Dell Inspiron 1525. I can't lie; it may have it's little bugs and freezes and may shut down for constant updates when I don't want it to, but all in all, it's treated me well through the years I've lived with it. It just looks like a piece of crap now. It's been through a lot that caused it to wear and tear and rather than pay $500 to get the parts replaced, I say what the heck, why not get a new laptop.

I've had the opportunity to play around with a MacBook when my uncle asked me to reset his because he forgot his password. MAN was I blown away! This was the polycarbonate unibody edition. The looks of it, the simplicity of the OS, the multitouch trackpad and gestures, the speed..that apple notebook made my inspiron look like an old lump of metal...Windows wishes it made an operating system like Apple's. I knew that one day, I would want to own something like this.

All I want is something to multitask with, play light games, do a tad bit of picture/video editing, storage for music/apps etc, a good web experience (which I'm sure they all offer) and something that gets my work done. By work, I mean high school work, so word processing and research mostly. I do not need to run heavy duty applications.

I'm on a budget here. I'm getting a refurbished model for no more than $1,100

so which one should I get?

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
You can get a new 13" MBP with student discount for around that price range.