New MacBook Pro - upgrade to 10.6.7 fails - "volume does not meet..."

Reaction score
I'm trying to apply the 10.6.7 combo upgrade from 10.6.6 to 10.6.7 and get the message in the Destination Select step: "Mac OS X Update Combined can't be installed on this disk. This volume does not meet the requirements for this update."

My Mac has only 1 disk, and it has over 300 GB free according to the installer. So, I must be missing something pretty elemental. That's likely since I'm just a newbie.

2 reasons I am trying this in the first place...
* To see if updates actually work.
* This update was recommended by tech support to fix a bug that is causing the App Store purchase process to fail to complete a purchase I was trying to make.

Yep - it's brand spank'n new. 13" i5 model from the local Apple store. Thanks!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
You can't use the combo updater (10.6.7) on your machine because you have the early 2011 MBP. The only disks you can currently use on that machine are the ones that came with it. Also, any updates that are flagged for your machine by Apple. I'm a bit surprised that Apple recommended the combo updater.

Go back to the Apple store or call tech support again and explain what happened.

OP
W
Reaction score
Thank you for the quick answer. I found a different 10.6.7 update that is apparently for the "2011 early update". In case anyone else needs it, here is a link...
Mac OS X v10.6.7 Update for early 2011 MacBook Pro

This answer leads to another question - does "early update" mean that I may have a model with the defective Intel support chip? Here is an article that describes how to check your Mac to see if it has a defective chip, but does anybody know of a way that doesnt require installing Windows?