Making the switch. Need advice…

D

devin_c_co

I’m looking into making the switch from the dark side (Windows) to the light side (Mac). I need some help deciding what to purchase as I am new to the Mac world. I am basically going to be using the machine for some photo editing, mp3 ripping, DVD ripping/burning, web surfing, word processing, etc. Nothing too major, but looking for the best bang for the buck. I am also looking at getting a 17” or 19” LCD soon as well (you’ll see where this comes in). Here are the choices that I am looking at. I want something that has some decent HP that will last me a good couple of years. I still will need access to my Windows PC for work, and the wife. I was thinking that if I go with one of the iMac’s, then I could RDP into my windows box and then I’d have my windows PC. With this setup I wouldn’t have to buy a LCD. But if something were to happen with the iMac or the windows PC, then I’d have to haul out my monitor, keyboard, etc. Kind of a pain. Then I started looking at the mini’s and getting a 17” or 19” LCD and finding a switch box to flip between machines. Then I stumbled upon the dual G4 setup (see below). So as you can see I have quite a few choices and all are pretty decent I think. So if someone can please HELP!!!

Refurbished iMac G5 1.8GHz/ 256MB/ 80GB/ SuperDrive/ 56K/ 17-inch from the apple store. I’ll upgrade the RAM after I get it, probably to 1GB. Price is $799.

Or…

Refurbished iMac G5 1.8GHz/ 256MB/ 160GB/ SuperDrive/ 56K/ 20-inch. Again, I’ll upgrade the RAM after I get it. Probably to at least 1GB. Price is $1149

Or…

Refurbished iMac G5 20-inch 2GHz SuperDrive / 512MB / 250GB. Again, upgrading the memory. Price is $1249

Or…

Dual 1.0GHz G4 / 2GBRAM / (2) 250GB Seagate HD’s / Superdrive & Combo drive / Radeon 9800 video card / Lot’s of software pre-installed. Price is $1000 (It’s used)

Or…

A Mac Mini of some kind and upgrade the RAM to 1GB. Price $450 to $600.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs