Configuring a MAC PRO...for Photo Editing

Reaction score
Hello,

As a new member to the forum, I am planning to purchase a Mac Pro (Quad Core 2.66 Mhz) over the next few weeks...and would like your advice. My primary use of this new Mac Pro is for photo editing / Post Processing.

As an amateur photographer, I am shooting with a Canon 5D MKII (21 MP) into RAW format. After post processing, I save as a TIFF...thus the file size is large.

Post Processing Software is: Adobe Lightroom and Capture One 5 Pro.

Back in August I purchased my first Mac...a Macbook Pro. I love the OS, and now want to use a Mac Pro as my primary computer.

Question 1 - In regard to upgrading the Hard Drive to optimally run my programs and store my TIFF images, would you recommend:

.....A. Upgrade the primary Hard Drive to 1 TB

.....B. Keep the primary Hard Drive std (640 MB), and add a secord Internal Hard Drive (of 640 MB)...in Bay 2

.....C. Keep the primary Hard Drive std (640 MB), and add an external Hard Drive

Question 2 - I am purchasing a NEC LCD2490 Monitor to mate with the Mac Pro. With an understanding I will need the DVI Adaptor...does use of such an adaptor degrade picture quality? On my Dell Computer, there is a direct digital plug built into the computer.

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
1) Option 2 or 3 sound the best. Perhaps option 2 and 3 would be a good idea. 1Tb drives are cheap right now.

2) Am I correct in assuming that you are going from DVI to VGA? If so, yes there will be some quality loss but probably not enough that you wil notice.

I looked at the NEC site for that monitor, very nice. It also says it has DVI-I and DVD-D inputs so I'm curious as to what adaptor you're going to need for it. It should work directly with either video card Apple offers.