which Mac should I buy? tower or iMac?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014), 32 GB Ram, 27" Thunderbolt Display, 4TB G-RAID TB Storage
I own and work on a G5 tower. it's a Dual 2.5g power PC with 8gb of ram. it's been acting up of late and crashing a lot. here's a description, though you can skip this next paragraph if you want:

it revs up, slows down, sounds weird, and I get strange pauses in Photoshop and crashes. sometimes when putting it to sleep, it does that rev up thing gradually until it gets REALLY loud and then won't wake up, then I need to force shut down. I also get Photoshop files that when opening them, I get a message that says the file may have been damaged.

so I think it's time for a new computer. the new towers are very expensive so I was looking at the iMacs. I was wondering if you think I'll be happy with an iMac. the specs look pretty good. I'm a graphic designer and run apps like Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator, Flash, etc. some of my PS files are 2gb in size, so, pretty big. I don't do video editing or audio, but I might get into it in the future, but mildly if at all.

so what should i be thinking about? should I stop messing around and get the tower or save some $$$ and go with an iMac? if so which one> will I notice a big difference with the quad-core? should I go as far as 8gb of ram or can i get by with 6?

any help weighing the pros and cons will be MUCH appreciated!

thanks!!!!!!!

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
so I think it's time for a new computer. the new towers are very expensive so I was looking at the iMacs. I was wondering if you think I'll be happy with an iMac.

Let's look at this logically. Your title says, "which Mac should I buy? tower or iMac?"

You've already said that "the new towers are very expensive so I was looking at the iMacs."