Can I take a song from my iPod on my iPhone 4 and make that my ringtone?

Reaction score
I have an iPhone4, and I would like to take a song from my iPod (on my iPhone) and make that my ringtone. Is this possible?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MB Air Core i7 256GB, 2011 Mini with 8GB RAM, iPad 2, iPhone 4S, 2TB Time Capsule
Not on the phone itself. In iTunes on your computer you have the ability to make a song a ringtone, but only if it has no DRM, and there are a series of steps to follow.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MB Air Core i7 256GB, 2011 Mini with 8GB RAM, iPad 2, iPhone 4S, 2TB Time Capsule
Digital Rights Management...

Best bet is to actually locate the song on your harddrive, and use the web to do the rest. If you're not terribly good with software the website "Myxer" is very easy to use, and free.

C

chas_m

Or you could just type "ringtone" into the iTunes help file and see what happens.

Reaction score
I'm a little new at this. How do I make a ringtone in iTunes? And what is DRM?

DRM is Digital Rights Management, a weird encryption thing that Apple did for a few years. As far as the sequence to create a ringtone from your own music, the following is the sequence for a PC. Apple computers make it easier, and I'll go over that after the PC directions.

FOR PC:

1. Start iTunes and find the song you want to convert. (It must be an MP3.)

2. Right-click the song and choose Get Info.

3. Click the Options tab.

4. Check the Start Time and Stop Time boxes, then enter times for each (no more than 30 seconds apart, the maximum length for a ringtone). I use the very beginning of The Spicy McHaggis Jig, as it has loud annoying bagpipes and is super noticeable.

5. Click OK, then right-click the song again and choose Create AAC Version. You should immediately see a new 30-second version of the song.

6. Drag that version out of iTunes and into the folder of your choice.