Trying to get online... Any ideas?

B

Boacrow

I have recently bought a Macbook Pro and I need it to be online for work. I am completely new to the Mac world having switched over after years of PC abuse. I have been trying to find any information that I can but it all just serves to confuse me. I have a Motorola I760 that I would like to use for the modem but I can't find any information about this phone at all. What do I need to hook it up and what is the procedure? As I said I am completely new to this and the technical jargon has really got me twisted in a knot. I think I need a tutor to help me change my PC habits. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.
Did you do this with your pc?
I don't know much about the phone sorry, but if you did this with your pc, how did you connect, bluetooth, or usb?

Connect the phone however you would with the pc and then go to network connections in the system prefferences and set up your phone to connect to the internet (password, username, etc.) (if your phone is showing up then, if not come back and let us know.

OP
B

Boacrow

No I have never used a cell phone as a modem before but it does sound easy. Thanks for the help. I guess it just takes time to unlearn all the PC stuff but I can already tell it's going to be worth the switch. Thanks again

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
While it is possible to use a cell phone as a modem, it would be one heck of an expensive way to connect to the internet, not to mention an extremely slow one at that. If you are that concerned with connecting on the go, I would suggest looking into a provider that offers a mobile WiFi card.
Something like this. You still have to pay for the plan, but it is still cheaper than using a phone as a connection and you get a much faster connection to boot.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.