• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

AVI to DVD burn

Reaction score
I am new to Macs and was wondering what programs I should use when I have a AVI file and need to burn it to a dvd, now I dont no if I can just burn an avi file and it will play on a dvd or not if so please let me no so I can just burn that but if I have to convert it what program should I use and what what program can I use to burn it?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2014, 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OSX 10.9.5 - iPhone 5s 16gb
If you have ilife with your mac, then use idvd that works very well, or there are plenty of other 3rd party apps out there too.

- Simon

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PPC Mini, 10.4.11. Intel Mini, 10.6.8. MacBook Pro, 10.14.6. M1 MBA 11.6.3 iPhone 5 iOS 12.5,
A lot will depend on how the .avi file was made. Not all avi files are the same, as it is really just a container for the files that make up the video.

I have avi movies in iPhoto, from a friends digital camera, that I can import into iMovie6HD and iMovie9 and then burn to make a playable DVD using iDVD.