My 5D MKII got wet.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Sooper Fast!
Tuesday night me and two friends were heading out to a bar to throw some darts and drink some brews. Fortunately, my camera was with me.

The friend driving saw red off of the horizon and smoke. Apparently a large fire. I told him to drive back in the direction of the smoke to see what was up. When we rolled up on this house, it was already completely engulfed and there was no one there. I told the other passenger to call 911 and I started shooting. We were there for about 45 minutes or so and I got pretty much the whole thing.

Needless to say, the 5D MKII rocks. I was shooting with the 24-70 f/2.8 and the 70-200 f/2.8 IS. The below photos are a little small, but if you click on them, it'll take you to the flick page where you can see the larger sizes. In the last one you can see about how hard it was raining.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 24" 2.66 C2D, 13" MacBook i7 2.9GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 4
Wow! Awesome pictures. Great color in the one with the two firemen looking thru the window. That, and the first one are my favorite.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 17" Glossy 2.16 gHz/2gig/320g
First off, great pics. Second off, as a beginning photography buff..(???) what were your settings in getting these pics? I would love to be able to capture things like this, but at this point, unless I go "full auto" on my Xsi, I don't think I could do it just yet.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Amazing pics! I take it the house was a total loss? Is the camera ok? You said it got wet.

OP
Village Idiot
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Sooper Fast!