Software Development on a Mac -- What do you use?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac-Mini
I have had a Mac-Mini now for almost a year. I love it. I plan on either getting a laptop or desktop this year for Christmas. I just have not decided on which yet.

I develop shareware and freeware as well as websites for a hobby and for fun and a small amount of profit. ;D I have been working with REALbasic standard for Mac now about 5 months and it is alright. I would like to know what most programmers use to develop software on a Mac. I know how to use Java but I keep hearing allot about Cocoa, Objective-C, etc.

Any insights would be grateful and thanks in advance and God bless.

nb

Reaction score
I don't know what the most popular languages are but I've had a lot of fun with Cocoa and Objective-C. The best part is that Apple includes the XCode IDE/compiler on your OS CD for free so you can just install it and get to work!

Reaction score
Certainly. That's the best book I've ever found on learning Objective-C and Cocoa. Once you get done with that, you'll be rockin'!

OP
N
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac-Mini
Great. Thanks. I will give it a look.
nb

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro & 23" ACD
Xcode, Objective-C / Cocoa. I would shy away from anything with Java, especially Java/Cocoa --- it's deprecated, not to mention inferior to Objective-C.

As for RealBasic, if you're looking to take it to the next level, go to Cocoa. RB is really limited, especially in terms of actually doing cool things with it.

I second the recommendation for Aaron's book -- he did a phenomenal job.

Reaction score