Graphic Design with a 13''

Reaction score
Hello guys,
I don't know if that's the good area to talk about this. Move the thread if I chosed the wrong section.
Anyway I finally decided to buy a macbook 13'' retina. I'm a graphic designer for a company but sometimes happen to me to do something as freelancer.
I was thinking to buy an external screen to use with the macbook, but right now I can't afford it.

Do you think that I could do some graphic design work even with a 13''?
I'm using a 15'' right now to freelancing and it's ok, even if it's not the best solution.
I don't know if a 13'' is really to small for this.

What do you think?
Thanks a lot!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Doing graphic design on a 13" screen is possible especially since it has a retina display. You're just going to have to get used to it until you can afford a large external monitor.

OP
T
Reaction score
Thanks! That's a relief! :)
I was thinking about a 13'' cause I already have a 15'' and I think it's too big and heavy to move around the house. A 13" would be perfect.
My problem was just if it's possible to work with it before getting an external monitor.

Do you think a 2.6GHz one is fast enough to work with the Adobe suite?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Do you think a 2.6GHz one is fast enough to work with the Adobe suite?

Yes. But more important - since the 13" Retina MacBook Pro can not be upgraded once you purchase it, it's paramount to order it with the upgrades you can afford. For example, order plenty of memory which is needed for graphics design and a large enough flash drive to do your work. CPU speed is not near as important as memory and flash drive size, so keep that in mind. ;)

OP
T
Reaction score