Building a Mac Pro Question

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPhone6s, Mini Server (2011), MBP 15inch i7(2013) Retina, iPad Pro
Is is possible to Build a Mac Pro. I see all the parts on ebay including the empty case. Want to know if you all think that it is worth it to build Mac Pro or buy one from Apple.

I have plenty of experience building Win servers and desktops, I want challenge of building a Mac Pro. I wanted to know if the Apple Guru's would recommend building a Mac Pro or buying a Mac Pro.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPad Pro 12.9 latest iOS
Me personally, I would buy ( a new or refurbished ) one for the sole reason that I would not have to worry about compatibility issues between hardware components itself or between hardware components and the OS.
I can understand the challenge and the satisfaction you get from actually building one.

Cheers ... McBie

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
It's possible to "build" a Mac Pro...if you're using all genuine Apple parts. Of course all you're really doing is gathering together & reassembling the parts that some other folks disassembled.

As far as whether to build a Mac Pro or get one from Apple. Well firstly the only Mac Pro you can currently get from Apple is a 2010 Mac Pro (the latest model)...and I can almost guarantee you...you're not going to find all the parts you need to assemble one of these.

Most likely...the only Mac Pro you're going to be able to build/reassemble would be an older model Mac Pro (which Apple no longer sells).

So the decision to build a Mac Pro or get one from Apple is not really a equivalent situation...since if you build one it will be older (less performance) than if you buy a new one (newer model).