MacbookPro optibay+ssd+reinstall Lion!

Reaction score
Hello maccers, I'm new here but this seem like the best place to get some good answers, for my questions! I am danish, so my english can be bait shabby!

I bought myself a macbook pro for few months ago, this is my FIRST mac item ever, so I'm new to the whole osx system! but i love it, oh god i love it!

Anyways to the questions! This will contain a somewhat wall of text and maybe a lot of frustration, since it will be one long, big question!

First off, I'm not new at fiddling with hardware, but I'm new at fiddling with this kind of system and laptops in general, i have done a RAM upgrade, short after i got my macbook, by adding 8gb instead of the 4gb it had, went smooth and perfect, was very easy!

Now its time for the HDD upgrade and since i do not use my ccd/dvd drive, I've chosen to get myself a optibay and keep my 750gb 5400rpm hard drive for storage of music, films and low requirement programs!

Now to the deal, this is gonna be a long, seemingly endless question, i will type down step by step what i will be doing and here i would like help in the way of, what i should do differently !

First ill remove the back of my macbook, i will then disconnect the battery from the board to avoid any damage i will then take out my current hard drive, and equip the new SSD in the hard drive bay for optimal use, heard that bay is were you want to have the system hard drive for best functional use!

After that i will remove the cd/dvd drive, equip the new optibay and setup my old hdd in this bay.

then close the macbook and turn it on, i got the macbook pro 17" Late 2011 so according to what I've been told, this machine got a "hidden" recovery disc were i will have the option to install Lion on any new hdd that i would setup, even without the old hdd(main hdd).