13 or 15 inch MBP? (switching from Windows)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPhone 3GS; 3 iPods
I'm having trouble deciding between a high-end 13inch Macbook Pro or a low-end 15 inch one.
I am currently using an HP Pavilion Entertainment laptop, 1GB RAM, Intel core 2 T5300, 1.73GHz, running on Vista (d'oh). It is almost 4 years old and keeps overheating and crashing and blocking and all that stuff (driving me insane pretty much).
Both of the MBPs have 4GB of RAM; the 15inch however has the Intel Core i5 (not that I myself have ever tested the difference).

I am a heavy user in that I spend pretty much all my time in front of a computer. However, I rarely (if ever) play games or edit videos; I mostly browse, edit photos and watch movies.

My current resolution is 1200x800 (like on the 13inch MBP).

I've never used a Mac before so I am asking if the upgrade from my current laptop to 13 will be enough (speed-wise mostly) to make me happy and significantly less b!tchy and irritated :Oops: and is upgrading even further to 15in worth it?

Also, since I watch a lot of movies, is the 13's smaller screen likely to bother me much (considering that it's the same resolution that I currently have)?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3
You can't go wrong with either but watching any video the bigger the screen the better the
experience and as far as speed yes you will notice that the OSX platform tends to do everything in a timely fashion with a little less micro managing or at least thats my experience. Go to the store and watch a demo video on each model and that should help
your decision myself the 15 fits the bill for both portability and screen real-estate.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to the Mac Forums.