New to Mac

Reaction score
I just ordered an iMac (21.5"). I have never used a Mac before. Basically being new to Mac, are there any must have software out there? What software is popular among Mac user? Thanks in advance!

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Welcome to the forum. You'll find a lot of help here.

But, the first thing to learn is to stop titling every thread "New to Mac". An appropriately named title will help draw those that have the answer to your question to your thread.

Enjoy your new computer!

OP
A
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. You'll find a lot of help here.

But, the first thing to learn is to stop titling every thread "New to Mac". An appropriately named title will help draw those that have the answer to your question to your thread.

Enjoy your new computer!

ummm...
Thanks.

C

chas_m

Your Mac will come pre-loaded with most everything you need to get going. I'd recommend having a look at the tutorials on Apple's web site, specifically Mac 101 and Switch 101 to help you hit the ground running. Also take a look at the incredible iLife Tutorials.

This forum has a sub-forum called Switcher Hangout where you're also likely to get lots of great advice for your question. Like everyone else here I can think of a dozen apps you may enjoy, but first and foremost you should probably stick to the applications that are included with your machine and learn "the system" and the basics first.

Welcome, and have fun!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
"Must have" software varies with the user. You'll have to specify what it is you do with your computer to get a useful answer to that. If you're looking for cool stuff to customize your Mac, there's plenty of that too, but it's not essential.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro Running Snow Leopard out of the box