End/Home keys - how to make them act like Windows?

Reaction score
So i'm a newbie to MACs. I had an iMac given to me as a gift. Thus far it's been everything I expected it to be - all except for the End key. I'm expecting Home/End to go to the begnning/end of the current line when editing something. While I realize that the behavior of going to the beginning/end of a document is the way it's supposed to work (and that there are other workarounds), that simply won't fly in my case.. something about "can't teach an old dog new tricks.."

In all seriousness, this Mac will either be useless or painful unless I can somehow "re-bind" these keys and make them perform as they would on a PC. Any ideas? Are there commercial programs to do this? Thanks!

Reaction score
To go to the beginning / end of current line press: Command OR Control + forward/backward arrow

To go to the beginning / end of current word press: Option + forward/backward arrow

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MBA. 15" MBP. iPhone 4. 3G Pad 2.
System Prefs > Keyboard & Mouse > Keyboard shortcuts > You can add your own shortcuts so may be worth a try.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
It's a small trick to learn. The Mac is not Windows, so don't expect it to be. If something as small as this is a big problem for you, then other things may drive you nuts in the long run.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Power Mac G5 Dual 1.8 GHz
This thread has a link to a page that explains a way to make Home and End act like they do on Windows.

However, I would suggest simply getting used to Cmd <-- and Cmd -->

I'm a user of both Mac OS X and Windows, but I used Windows for about 6-7 years before ever using OS X.
When I first used OS X, evidently, it was a bit hard to get used to Cmd <-- and Cmd --> instead of Home and End.

But after maybe a week, I got used to it.

I mean, it's a different OS.