• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

DCR-TRV530 problems with IMAC

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
IMAC 27" IPhone 4 IPad 2
I am new to the mac world and just purchased the 9pin to 4pin cable today so that I could download my movies from my camera to imovie but this thing will not find the camera. I have tried multiple things like putting the mac to sleep and checking the connections, turning the camera to vcr mode and then starting the mac back up still no luck anyone help??

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2013 rMBP, i7, 750m gpu, OSX versions 10.9.3, 10.10
What "thing" won't find the camera? The Mac or iMovie? One major difference between Mac and Windows is that on a Mac, it won't necessarily notify you when you plug a piece of equipment unless it needs to for some reason. It won't notify you of the camera being connected, but if it's a supported camera, iMovie should recognize it when you try to import footage...

I should note that I'm not guaranteeing it will work - there have been some people that have had problems with their camcorders on firewire with 10.6.x

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid