Install Snow Leopard over Lion

Reaction score
I have been searching the internet for answers on this very question with no conclusive answer. Anyone know if when I eventually get my MacBook Air if I can install Snow Leopard on it, even though (assuming) it came pre-installed with Lion? Of course, I plan on buying Snow Leopard in which to do this install. And if I was able to do this, what would happen with the iLife '11 that came pre-installed? The information I read that suggested I might be able to install Snow Leopard on a MBA where Lion had been the original OS said that it wipes the hard drive clean before re-installing the OS via Disk Utility. I have never done anything like this on a mac before, but did something along these lines several years ago with an old PC.
I have head of Lion removing programs that SL had and how buggy it is, not to mention it is apparently more labour intensive and therefore slower. These are my reasons for wanting to have SL instead of Lion.
Anybody able to weigh in on this?

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
It's not slower here. Not in the least. Faster especially with the 64-Bit apps that come with it. SL has bugs that I doubt they will ever fix. Like the Bluetooth battery level that was changed with an update and shows 100% when the battery is 3/4 dead. Many including me have asked for a fix and nothing. Most of the so called bugs in lion are not bugs. There are a few like lower battery life with SOME MBP's but not all. Those Apple is aware of.

To your question, a New Mac will only run at the oldest with the OS that it came with. There are hundreds here who have asked that same question about installing an older OSX than what they new mac shipped with and it's the same answer. No.

There might be an illegal way but we will not discuss that here. :D