Slow browsing-a new twist. Thoughts?

Reaction score
Greetings! Newbie here. Had my Mac Pro desktop for a couple of years, love it. Running Tiger (10.4.11) with 2 x 2.66 Dual Core Intel Xeon and 2GB 667 MHz DDR2. I'm a little behind on the OS because I use Pro Tools, and there's always a compatibility lag there. Waiting to make a jump. Anyhow...

I also experience the "slow internet" problem from time to time, despite my network (cable modem) being just fine. Pulling 5.31 MB/s download, 1.05 MB/s upload (speedtest.net results). My Pro is hardwired to my router(D-link) via ethernet cable.

When my Mac starts crawling online (both Safari & Firefox), as others have reported, my daughter's PC on the same network (wirelessly) will still fly right along, loading the ad & video heavy CNN.com in under 15 seconds, while the Mac chews on it for over a minute, if it decides to load it at all.

Here's the kicker (and maybe a clue?): If I start up Parallels on my Mac, and surf the 'Net from *inside* the Windows environment (Vista, using IE), the 'Net performance is BLAZING, even though the performance in the Mac OS remains snail-slow. That's right. Same computer. Same connections. Two very different experiences.

Problem seems more pronounced at night. Is something "filling up?" Just looking for ideas.

Thanks!

Scott

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
You may be experiencing a DNS problem. For some reason Windows is able to resolve DNS addressing much better than Mac OS X. Try this:

Open System Preferences, Network. Highlight your Ethernet connection and then click on the Advanced button to the bottom right. Select the "DNS" tab at the top menu. At the bottom of the box which says "DNS Servers" click on the small + sign. Add this address: 208.67.222.222 click the + again and add this address below the first one: 208.67.220.220