iMac Won't Turn On!

Reaction score
Hi All!

I am relatively new to Macs, but have had a desktop with little use for roughly two years. Last week, I left my computer on and it went into sleep mode and was frozen when I went to wake it up. I held down the power button to shut down the computer and since then I have not been able to access my desktop at all!

I turn it on and it shows the white screen with the apple logo, I enter my password and then the screen either turns blue and shows the cursor and nothing else; or I am shown a white pixelated screen that changes to the blue screen once I click the mouse. I am unable to get past the blue screen no matter how many avenues I try!

Please assist me if you have any suggestions at all!

Thank you SO much!
Bernadette

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
G'day and welcome to the forums.

Well Bernadette helps greatly if you supply iMac details, model and processor speed etc., and operating system. For starters try an SMC reset by shutting down, unplugging from the mains and leave unplugged for ten minutes or so, plug back in and try to boot. If no joy try zapping the PRAM by restarting and immediately after the chime hold down the Command, Option P and R keys all together and keep held down until after the third chime and release.

Next step boot from the system install disc, or if Lion or Mountain Lion, from Recovery, go into Disk Utility and run Repair Disk from there for starters. Keep us posted?

Reaction score
It could be your hard drive

I just went through this with tech support. I had tried to repair my Lion with the utility but after many discussions with tech support and the iTunes support they informed me that some iMacs between 2009 and 2011 have bad hard drives by seagate and they were informing people they may need to be replaced but they didn't reach me and may not have sent you this recall. It's the 20-27 inch models I think. Mine is 27.

Reaction score