Macbook pro memory options....

B

badboyben3000

Hi there,

Looking for my first mac and the new macbooks look fantastic.

However, when I go to configure one the memory options list 1gb as either the 'standard' single stick, or 2 x 512mb sticks.

The double stick method is about £70 cheaper.... I'm no RAM expert but I thought I remember seeing about 'dual channel' memory or something..... and that running two smaller sticks was actually faster than a larger single stick?

Any decent performance gains either way or a good way to bag the £70?

Also, would opting for the 7200 rpm drive provide any noticeable speed difference over the 5400 rpm? (I'm looking at the 100gb drive).

Cheers for your help guys,

Ben

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iBook
the more ram u feed a mac the better it will run, that is the key to a mac

the 7200 rpm drive will also eat up more battery power, i don't think u would notice a huge performance issue, what will u be doing on it?

Reaction score
the 7200 rpm drive will also eat up more battery power
I was told this isn't the case if you work with photoshop or other intense programs, the reason being the cpu usage will be a-lot less doing projects. In everyday use it should be the same because programs will open up faster. I don't know if this is true, but it sounds good.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Unibody MBP 2.53, 4Gigs Ram, 320 HD, Snow Leopard, 500 Gig Time Capsule, 32 Gig White 3GS
interesting about the 2 vrs 1 ram, never heard that.

I wish you could get the 1.83 with 512 as I have 2 gig sticks i can use.

i also wish you could put the 256 graphics card in the 1.67.

(My price point is inbetween the two)

OP
D

desantim