Help on choices please

Reaction score
Hi All,

Thank you for reading my post. Im changing my personal computers to Apple after many years.

It is a two stage approach (to get past the wife!) - first is to buy her a 'laptop'. I contemplated an iPad, but have decided she prefers a ever present keyboard. So i have looked at Airbooks and Mac books.

Need advise on which way to go?

She will use it for emails, Facebook and some light excel (or numbers) work. Storage wise i was going to get a separate drive for anything beefy.

I initially was going to go with the 11" 2Gb mem and 64Gb HD but not sure if 2Gb is sufficient as i am new to Apple computers. Can anyone help? Is this base model adequate for her simple needs?

I will eventually (6 months time) buy myself an iMac and Time machine, so the need for optical is minimal if at all.

Many thanks,

Ant

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 17" 2011, 2.3GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 8GB RAM, MacMini 2011, 2.7GHz Intel Dual-Core i7, 8GB RAM
The Air will be fine, but I can pretty much guarantee those stats will leave you wanting.

I would recommend getting the best you can. Nothing in it can be upgraded at a later time as it is all soldered to the mainboard. Get the most RAM, at least get 128GB SSD. Get the best processor you can afford.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21.5" iMac i5 2.9 Ghz, 15" MBPro i7 2.0 Ghz, iPhone 5, iPhone 4s, ATV2, ATV3, iPad2, iPad Mini
A couple of other thoughts:

Given what the computer will be used for the MacBook Air is more than enough, you do not need a MacBook Pro.

I do no think you mentioned what she used before but to ease the transition I would suggest getting a 13" model instead of the 11" model. If she has been using a keyboard based laptop before I would think that it was bigger than 11" and moving down to a little 11" would be quite a transition.

DavidH

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MB Pro, 2.66 i7 ; 11” MBA 1.8GZ i7; 13"MBA 2GZ i7 8 GB mem 512GB SSD, 2 iPad3s, 1 iPad Mini
Mba 11"