Windows User looking to make the switch, got some newbie Qs!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod Classic | iPod Shuffle | no more money
Hi there.

On the one hand I've been a fan of Macs and the Mac OS for about 4 years or so I'd guess, firstly through my introduction to the Mac world as part of a Computing & Music module at uni, and then through offering tech support for a BT(telco) product in the UK.
On the other hand, I've become more and more disgruntled with MS and its' shonky products. I've been using Linux distros for a couple of years now for around 50% of my daily compter use.

I am now moving ever closer to just buying a MacBook, that way I get a good looking piece of hardware, a decent OS and from what I understand, the BSD based OS X would still allow me to poke, prod & play.

It is a shame that Apple hardware is so much more expensive than generic stuff, I appreciate it looks better, but I know I'd have made the jump a while back if costs were not so great.

However - before shelling out on a new laptop, I wonder if someone could take the time to give me some answers/information?

>> Will the built-in wireless technology in the MacBook work with standard wireless routers & access points?

>> Is the built in wireless able to work with older wireless kit (11b etc)

>> What do most poeple find they can get out of a fully charged battery - assuming you're not doing much more than web browsing and chatting online etc.

>> I've never heard of it until looking around the forums here, but; Should I stay away from the white MacBooks - do they all discolour like that? I don't really want to spend out for a black one, but I'm sure I don't want a skanky looking white one in a couple of months time.

>> Is there anything else I should know?

Thanks for taking some time to answer or point me in the direction of some great posts that already cover this info.

Dave

Reaction score