Hide dock icons at startup?

Reaction score
Hi guys I'm new here but been a long time lurker and decided I should join as help seems vast and wide on these forums :)

If this the wrong section for my question, forgive me :)

Ok so I'm fairly new to Mac and I want to know if theres any program or way to stop certain Dock icons from popping up at Startup? I know how to use the Accounts>Hide feature but the dock icon still appears.

Is there anyway to basically make it startup without anything showing up? just running in the background?

Thanks Matt.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 17" 2011, 2.3GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 8GB RAM, MacMini 2011, 2.7GHz Intel Dual-Core i7, 8GB RAM
did you go look? you hide the dock from within System Preference: Dock. That is how it is done and what you asked for, unless you want something else.

OP
G
Reaction score
No, thats not what I wanted :) I already have the dock hidden.

I mean I want to actually hide certain Icon's on the dock from coming up during startup. I want the Apps/Programs to be discrete. Startup in the background without any of the icons sitting in the dock while the program is active.

Sorry for the misunderstanding.

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
To ensure that applications don't show in the Dock, you can use something like Dockless. Haven't used it myself but it seems to be what you're looking for.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15in i7 MacBook Pro, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 500GB HD
Dockless is not a guaranteed solution, I've seen computers and apps get screwed up by it.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
What's the big deal about having applications show their icon on the dock? You felt they were important enough to start up with your computer, your other option is not to start them automatically and only when you need them..

Regards

vansmith

Reaction score