Where to place your typedef struct declaration file ?

Reaction score
I just started playing with typedef struct

MyClass.h
Code:
#import <Cocoa/Cocoa.h>
@interface MyClass:NSObject
{
	NSRange Range;
}
-(void) Generic_Message;
@end

MyClass.m
Code:
#import "MyClass.h"
#import <stdio.h>
#import <Foundation/Foundation.h>

@implementation MyClass
-(void) Generic_Message
{
	//Range = { 17 , 4 }; //For some reason, this doesn't work :(
	Range=NSMakeRange (17,4) ;
	NSLog (@"\nRange location: %d\nlength: %d",  Range.location, Range.length );
}
@end

Main.m
Code:
#import "MyClass.m"

int main(int argc, char * argv[])
{
	id ClassInstance = [ [MyClass alloc] init];
	[ClassInstance Generic_Message];
	[ClassInstance release];
	return 0;
}

I have two questions, why doesn't
Code:
Range = { 17 , 4 };
work ?

And secondly, how to I create my own typedef struct ?
For example I created this:
Code:
typedef struct _CustomType
{
	int width;
	int length;
	int height;
}
CustomType;
where do I put it ?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.1GHz MacBook with 4GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.6, iLife and iWork ‘09
1. NSRange is just a C struct. To set its value, you have to set the components individually. For your example, you’d have to do
Code:
Range.location = 17;
Range.length = 4;
NSMakeRange does this for you and returns the resulting NSRange.

2. This is largely your choice. I would personally put it either in MyClass.h (outside the interface block) if you’ll only be using it in MyClass.m, or if you plan on using it in various other files, perhaps create an entirely separate header (for example, Definitions.h) and then import that into your other classes as necessary.