MS Visual C++ to XCode

K

k01

Hi, I am very new to C++ and am trying to use code written in MS Visual C++ in XCode. I have the help of experienced C++ programmers, but most use PCs and one codes on Linux machines. Unfortunately, the combined knowledge doesn't quite solve the problem of running Visual C++ programs in XCode. I'd really appreciate any advice on how to go from one to the other! thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 2.6ghz Quad Xeon, 23" Cinema
Just use gcc.

OP
E

echo12

Does XCode work?

k01 said:
Hi, I am very new to C++ and am trying to use code written in MS Visual C++ in XCode. I have the help of experienced C++ programmers, but most use PCs and one codes on Linux machines. Unfortunately, the combined knowledge doesn't quite solve the problem of running Visual C++ programs in XCode. I'd really appreciate any advice on how to go from one to the other! thanks

I just posted a question in Mac Software about Visual Studio. I just started my first programming class in college and they use Visual Studio to compile C++. I have my own PowerBook and would like to write on it but my code has to compile in Visual Studio for credit. Can I do this with XCode?

OP
J

josgraha

The short answer for questions about porting code between XCode and Visual Studio is "yes" with a *huge* disclaimer and that is your code is 100% portable between platforms. Also XCode and Visual studio both have their own build scripts so you will have a bunch of extra files like the project files and build scripts. I used to do stuff like that with Project Builder and Visual Studio. I would just check the project into cvs or copy the project directory over to each machine, then open up the project file for that platform. Your code will have to be 100% portable ANSI C or C++ and this also assumes you are not binding to some "linux" type library such as flex or bison which you will have to get compiled on each platform.