Using hotmail as defualt email

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm using firefox and safari as my internet browsers. Every time I want to email someone, that uses a direct link on their website, the "Mail" program starts up. The problem is I use hotmail and don't have a .Mac account. How do I set it so that when i click on these links it directs me to my hotmail account?

Thanks!

M

MacHeadCase

*Moved thread to appropriate forum - Question not on OS X but email apps*

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac base
I'm far from an expert but, I found that using the free hotmail account you can no longer use it directly through the mail app (or Windows programs). I personally am phasing out hotmail because of all their nosense with that. You can configure gmail, and many others, to work with Mail though and they are lots better than hotmail anyway.

OP
L
Reaction score
^^^
Well is there anyway to get away from mail all together? I have a Laptop running windows, but also using Firefox and it's able to link on those email address links and got to the hotmail login page. The problem is i don't remember how I set that up anymore. Plus I'm not even sure I can set it up like that for a mac.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MBP 2.53 DC2, 09 Mini 2.0 DC2, 07 Mini 2.16 DC2, MB 2.0 DC2, iBook G3 900MHz, G4 Sawtooth 1.6Ghz
well you can use this plugin to send and receive emails form your hotmail account through mail. i used this for a year or so but finally decided to go mac with all my computers and get an iphone so a .mac was going to be easier and i switched.

i want to mention a couple of things about that plugin though :

1. i was never able to find a way to remove it. not saying it cant be done but i couldnt figure it out.

2. DO NOT "upgrade" install Leopard with that installed as it will cause you to never be able to get mail to open