Cannot boot after Norton Emergency Repair

N

nekoly

Hi... I'm fairly new to macs. My powerbook was having some major problems with directories and such. So I booted the mac to the Norton CD to do an emergency repair. That went fine, but now I can't seem to boot it to the harddrive. I've tried holding to Option key or C key but nothing works. My PB is hooked up to a monitor so I've tried unhooking it but all I see on the PB screen is black...and very faded in the background is either a mac icon with a ? blinking or two buttons with a revolving arrow or an arrow pointing to the right.

Powerbook G4 1.25 OSX 10.2.x.x 512mb

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2
Norton is ALWAYS a nono when it comes to mac problems from what I've heard...

I think that your drive index has been corrupted by the utility somehow, try starting up with your OS X install disks in the drive and hold C.

Then do an archive and reinstallation if it recognises the old partition...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PowerMac G4 Cube 450mhz 832mb
yea, your problems were probably easily fixable had you asked before using norton products, and its lkikely that norton utilities caused the damage to your directories as Ive seen it do many times. there are lots of apps for 'repairing' a problem on your mac, but that doesnt mean theyre good or work.

OP
N

nekoly

Thank you for your help. I will try your advice and see how it goes. I did not realize Norton was a bad thing for Macs. Is there another anti-virus/repair/security software that's more reliable for macs?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
there are no viruses. all you need if anything is cocktail, and maybe diskwarrior or techtool or something similiar.

rman

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
From what I have read, disk warrior would be your best bet.

OP
N

nekoly