Booting Windows Installation Problem!

Reaction score
Hey, my problem is this. I've been running Windows XP SP2 on a bootcamp partition for a good 2 months now, playing all my windows 3D games etc etc. When ive needed to use OSX i just pressed ALT at start and switched. Its now ive come across a problem which i dont understand, i turned on my mac one morning just like i would any other morning and booted up windows only when it started up it came to the "we appologize" etc etc screen and asked to run windows normal, safe mode and all that, ive tryed all these and all will start to load windows then go onto the dreaded BLUE screen and die basically.. ALSO i then thought well ill just repair the installation but now when i insert the SAME disk i used to install windows it just goes to a black screen with a little line flashing in top left corner..?? PLEASE HELP!!?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
It sounds like something may have corrupted the partition. If you can't boot to XP with the installation CD to do a repair or you're not seeing the XP installer start, there's not a whole lot you can do.

I'm assuming the file system is NTFS? Can you read any of your Windows files\folders from OS X? Can you even "see" the Windows partition from
OS X?

Post back and let us know. We can go from there to figure something out.

Regards.

OP
T
Reaction score
Yes its NTFS and yeah i can see my partition, i would be able to back up data i need too i suppose like game save files but if i can get it back working it would be a heck of alot better because it means i would have to reinstall windows plus all the programs and games i had on my windows partition

Reaction score