pc -> mac | visual studio c++ .net -> ?

A

altano

I just got an iBook (my first mac). I'm a computer science student and have been using visual studio c++ as my primary IDE under windows. I've played with gcc of course, since i'm a CS student, but I prefer a full IDE, especially for debugging. (No, I suck at gdb).

So what would you guys recommend for C++ development to someone like me?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 2.6ghz Quad Xeon, 23" Cinema
gcc. At my school (University of Maryland) all of our computer science projects are done in unix environment.

OP
A

altano

No offense to you since I appreciate that you took your time to reply, but I'm getting the idea that people on this forum aren't willing to actually read people's posts.

I clearly said I'm familiar with GCC and prefer an IDE where I can debug properly (as in, no command line).

So let me rephrase the question: what IDE would you guys suggest to someone who wants to develop on a mac, come from .net?

OP
J

josgraha

I am not a "hard-core" or even "knowledgeable" OSX developer but here is what little I know. You have a few choices here:
1. XCode (Apple's IDE)
2. Code Warrior (Metrowerks)
3. Scripting environments
4. The rest (Eclipse, DotGnu et. al.)