google software update

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to Mac Forums (think I came here once when I first got my computer in 2009). I recently installed OSX Mavericks. The next day I got a pop up window " google software update would like to control this computer". I have no idea if this is a legit thing or whether to accept or deny. I haven't done either yet. P.S. there is a section below this that says send trackbacks to - no idea what this is. Thanks for any help

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Hi, I'm new to Mac Forums (think I came here once when I first got my computer in 2009).

I'm not sure this is a great introduction!;) If you came here once back in 2009...how come you haven't been back since (we try to be very friendly here)!:)

I recently installed OSX Mavericks. The next day I got a pop up window " google software update would like to control this computer". I have no idea if this is a legit thing or whether to accept or deny. I haven't done either yet. P.S. there is a section below this that says send trackbacks to - no idea what this is. Thanks for any help

Doesn't sound very good to me. I'm wondering if something was downloaded that shouldn't have been (I'm talking before the Mavericks download).

- Nick

OP
B
Reaction score