iPad information - re: using Airport Express

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hi,
I am new to this forum, aswell to having an iPad. It is amazing, but still learning.
Can the Airport Express be used as a WiFi for the iPad while traveling? If so,
does it have to be connected PC? As I said I am relatively new to the computer world and am trying to learn and understand.
At home we have a wireless router and it works very well.
Was reading about the Airport express router and was unclear as to wether I could take the iPad on a trip and use the Airport Ex. in place of a wireless router?

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
That won't exactly work unless the Airport Express can get an Internet connection from somewhere. In other words much like your wireless router it has to be connected to some type of cable or DSL connection.

The iPad would be able to get a signal at many wi-fi hotspots even without using the Airport as a go between. If you have one of the iPad models that supports it you can also use a cellular connection assuming you have a data plan. I have seen reports of people also using one of those portable wi-fi hotspot devices with the iPad.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
25" iMac 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo iPhone 4
I'm not an expert by any means, but I've just gotten a new iPad and have looked at how to use it in a place that doesn't have wifi(like a hotel). Most hotels do have wired in-room connections, so I'm hoping that you can take an ethernet cable and plug one end into the hotel ethernet connection and the other end into the airport express to give you a wireless connection. I'd love to know if it's possible to configure the airport express with the iPad

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs