• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

iDVD 06 Menu Duration Error Messages

Reaction score
Hi. I am only fairly new to the AppleMac Suite. I bought a secondhand iBook G4 to edit home movies using iMovie 06. Things were progressing nicely. I was able to do all the things that I needed to (eg, add Chapters, Music, Stills, etc.) I would then send the completed work across to iDVD, add a fancy start scene, and off it'd go. It would always come up with a message saying that DropZones had to be filled. That was fine, as I used Autofill to do that. All my movies have been around 60 to 90 minutes long, with some having up to 20 Chapters. Still no problems. However, my last two efforts struck a problem. Got an error message saying that "the Menu Duration exceeded 15 minutes". I referred to the Help screen to see what that meant, but I'm afraid the terminology used had me stumped. In an effort to fix this, I made sure that every Chapter was less than 15 minutes long, but that didn't work. The only way I could complete a job was to remove the Chapter Markers completely. Although that worked, it really defeats the purpose, because the Chapter Markers are an essential part of the movies I'm editing. I tried to get an ap