Brand new user to Macs, professional musician

Reaction score
Just got one, I'm totally new to platform and looking to implement it in with my bass playing and live performances. MIDI, DAW, synth, loops/live samples, etc... what programs, interfaces and whatnot should I be looking at to get started?

Another concern I have; It was a Christmas present and was the 13" MacbookPro, which I immediately noticed didn't have the audio in/out 1/8" jacks like the 15" Book does. Will this be a large obstacle to overcome, or will the Thunderbolt/USB/Firewire connections, is it really small potatoes? If necessary, I could use gift receipt and upgrade it myself but I wanted to get opinions first.

Basically my eventual gameplan is so run from my bass guitar, into my pedalboard (possibly split the signal first and send the clean signal to the MacBook), into my amp. I would like to use certain plugins such as synthesizers to modulate my bass guitar tone, then run back out into my amp from the computer. Additionally, have been experimenting with the idea of doing live loops/samples with the heart being the MacBook rather than a physical loop pedal, and having some sort of MIDI/DAW controller mounted directly onto my instrument to trigger the samples (hopefully beat-synced) and/or act as a X/Y controller.

Am i being overly ambitious or is this all possible? I really need to know if I should upgrade to the 15" before I get too far in... Thanks for any help

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
Sorry can't help, but it is times like these i wish my mate 6string (banned) was still around to help out. He uses a MBP teaching guitar.

Im sure someone will drop in and help you out. Good luck and welcome to M-F

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 16” M1max 32/1tb and bunch of other mac/apple stuff