Mac on a Windows dominated network?

Reaction score
I did a search on the forum and browsed through some threads but I havn't found the info I'm looking for so I was hoping some people here could advise me a little.

Firstly, I'm a Windows guy. My last experinces with a mac was about 10 years ago in highschool and I was greatly turned off macintosh by the repeated bomb popup ruining my day almost everytime I used it. They were, however, used macs that took a beating from other clowns in my school. But it was enough to taint my young view of them.

Now, a decade later, my fiancee has fallen in love with the new Macs since she took a design course at the local college and they were running macs for the course.
So, now she's been to the local shops looking at them. She wants a mac, I can't remember the model, it's the one where everything is built into the monitor itself.

I'm a semi network admin among other things at work. It is a Windows and Linux environment. At home I run a network connected to our DSL with 4 Windows PC's running Win XP, Win Vista (32 and 64bit), and Win 7 Beta. One of the windows machines is wireless. There is also a Brother network printer. All these devices connect via a 2Wire DSL modem/router provided by our ISP.

When she gets the Mac, as I'm sure she will, one of the Vista machines will be taken off the network.

My question is;
- Will the Mac be able to 'see' the windows machines (and vise-versa).
- Is there functionality in the two OS's to allow a file transfer to happen between them? We currently transfer files on a semi regular basis between the Windows boxes.
- Will the Mac be able to share the DSL on the modem/router without some special configuration being needed?