photoshop, i photo, etc

Reaction score
I am used to using photoshop to make alterations to my photos. I have tried several options. I have old photos saved on an external harddrive, but I have others I downloaded into i photo. The problem is that I cannot seem to open the photos I downloaded into i photo in photoshop. I open photoshop and I then click open, I open the photo folder and I see the photos saved as simple jpeg, but I try to open iphoto and it says it is a file that photoshop cannot open. Do I have options? What is the best way to do this? Is it possible?

thanks
PS I am new to the world of mac and still learing. I use an external hard drive and have a SSD 125 gm internal memory on a macbook pro

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
Open them with iPhoto and then export the photos to your folders. Alternately, if you want to use iPhoto to manage your pictures, you can set Photoshop as an external editor.
You would do that under Preferences in the iPhoto menu.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Air M2 ('22) OS 14.3; M3 iMac ('23) OS 14.3; iPad Pro; iPhone 14
I am used to using photoshop to make alterations to my photos. I have tried several options.........

thanks
PS I am new to the world of mac and still learing. I use an external hard drive and have a SSD 125 gm internal memory on a macbook pro