Black MacBook, MacBook Pro, or iMac?

Reaction score
Okay, so I'm looking for a really good new computer for most likely portable use (I am a student), so the iMac is probably already out of the question. My current computer is an iBook G4 (1.25GB of RAM, 80GB Hard Drive, 1.2GHz PowerPC Processor running Leopard). I was considering one of these two options:

- 13" Black MacBook (2.4GHz Intel Processor, 250GB HD, 4GB of RAM, and, obviously, Leopard) = $1700

- 15" MacBook Pro (2.4GHz Intel Processor, 250GB HD, 4GB of RAM, & Leopard) = $2700

Why are these two setups entirely identical (except for screen size and color) and yet $1000 apart in price. To me, the black MacBook obviously seems like a better deal, but is there some special difference that makes the MacBook Pro worth all that much more?

I've also heard that the finish on the MacBook Pro scratches a lot more easily than does on a regular black MacBook.

Once again, I prefer the Black MacBook due to the price, but you guys tell me what you think! :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
Larger screen (also LED based), dedicated video card, aluminum construction, backlit keyboard, and that's all I can think of.

I know how you feel, the Macbook definitely felt like a better deal back when I was buying my first Mac. I settled on the black Macbook and haven't regretted the decision since.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Please do not Cross or Double post the same message in two forums. Thank you.

Also Firewire 800 Port, Real DVI Video port for two more. 15" Display Vs 13.1", Express Card Slot.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
See, I knew I missed some more features :p

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE