Old Game in Mac OS X

Reaction score
I am fairly new to the mac world and I would like to buy few of my favorite windows games for my PowerMac G5. But when I tried installing the SIms it said something about I didnt have MacOs 9 installed. I dont have it installed, but I have OS X tiger. What do I need to do, I was looking to buy the Age of Empires game but th system rquirements say that it needs Mac OS 8.6+. Will I encounter the same problem when I try to play the game? Do I need to buy Mac OS 9 and run it like a regular app, where can I get it since it seems like nobody carries it anymore.

-Thanks!

Reaction score
Indiana; there's more than just corn here
Your Mac's Specs
Powerbook G4 1.67 MHz
Here's what I know...

You need to install what is known as classic (bear with me i'm new to this too), which is OX 9. The installation should be on DVD 2 of the system DVDs that came with your system. I was going to do this but I don't of the possible hazzards to doing this because in the install it basically says "install at your own risk." If anyone could please inform both of us more on this topic I would appreciate it.

OP
B
Reaction score
It was actually on Disk 3, and I was able to install it and it worked so thank you very much, it looks like I will be stopping at compusa tomorrow to get Age of Empires! OS 9 was incredibly easy to install, it basically did it itself and then I told it to run under the OS 9 settings in System Preferences.

-Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.67 Ghz 17" PB w/1 GB Ram; 400 MHz PM G4, 366Mhz iBook Firewire, Nano 4GB Black
There is nothing wrong with installing OS 9 on your mac, either the full or classic mode. Older macs can boot up into OS 9 if it is installed. Classic is like an OS 9 that runs within OS X.