Can't upgrade to os x 10.6

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to MAC. A friend gave me his old macpro 1,1 which is running os x 10.5.8.

I also have the install dvd of os x 10.6.4 but when i try to install this, i get the message: Snow Leopard can't be installed on this computer.

When i checked the requirements for os x 10.6.4 i read that i needed an intel processor. Which i should have recording about this mac.

Model: Mac Pro
Modelaanduiding: MacPro1,1
Processorname: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processors speed: 2.66 GHz
Nr processors: 2
Total cores: 4
Memory: 3 GB
ROM-version: MP11.005C.B08
SMC-version (system): 1.7f10

I can't find a tool or error log explaining me why it doesn't want to upgrade.

Does anyone have tips or more information about this.

Thx in advance

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15in i7 MacBook Pro, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 500GB HD
Do you have a retail Install disk, or a gray restore disk?

You need a retail version to install. The gray disks only work on the computer they come with.

Reaction score
Purchase the retail Snow Leopard DVD. Do the following:

1. Repairing the Hard Drive and Permissions