File/photo sharing

Reaction score
I am new to Macs in general but not new to security. A friend has imported photos in iPhoto on user account A but it trying to share them (I'm personally not sure which directory/folder the photos are stored in) with a new user account B that she has created to use only at work.

Can anyone help me? Is this a permissions thing on the directories? Does account A security settings need to be changed to allow access to the files? How does directory security and user-to-user access work in general with OSX? Can anyone provide a URL for a tutorial?

I know she's on OSX but don't really know what version.

Thank you in advance!

Reaction score
I am new to Macs in general but not new to security. A friend has imported photos in iPhoto on user account A but it trying to share them (I'm personally not sure which directory/folder the photos are stored in) with a new user account B that she has created to use only at work.

Can anyone help me? Is this a permissions thing on the directories? Does account A security settings need to be changed to allow access to the files? How does directory security and user-to-user access work in general with OSX? Can anyone provide a URL for a tutorial?

I know she's on OSX but don't really know what version.

Thank you in advance!

G'day mateoc15 & welcome to Mac-Forums.

I found this tutorial on file sharing in Mac OS X:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106461

Reaction score
I think he means sharing on the same computer with a different user.

I believe any files you put into the SHARED folder are usable by all users. Not really sure how you make all your photos available to be viewed in iPhoto by all users.

Reaction score
This is taken from Finder Help:

Anyone who logs in to your computer can read or copy the items you put in your Public folder (except for your Drop Box folder, which only you can open).