MacMail not receiving all messages

Reaction score
I'm brand new to the Mac world, so please excuse me if I'm missing something simple or if I don't give all the necessary information.

I'm using a MacBook Pro and running Mac OS X 10.5.6

I set up macmail and used it successfully for 2-3 days. All of a sudden I stopped receiving some of my emails. I didn't realize it for 2 days, since I was still receiving some emails, but not all. My husband mentioned sending me one I hadn't received, which is when I realized the problem. I checked my old machine (PC) which is still running Windows and Outlook and the messages were all there. I've looked through some forums, but can't find anyone with the same situation. It seems everyone is either receiving all or none.

I have no rules set up and it is POP3.

I can't find a commonality between the messages I'm not receiving. I've tried Connection Doctor which reports everything is normal.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
You could start by updating your OS to 10.5.8
You can get it HERE.
Best to dl it straight from apple site instead of the System Update. Once you have got it install it, then run Repair Disk Permissions.
Unless someone else pops in for another solution, just keep us posted so we can try another method.
And i dare say we will find your problem eventually lol

Cheers

OP
P
Reaction score
I will try that. In the meantime I got Office for Macs and am running Entourage, too. Trying to see if it's the app or the machine. I'm also still running Office on the old PC. So that means I'm comparing 3 sets of emails to make sure I don't miss any. As of now, Entourage has missed one... once again, not sure if it's the app or the computer.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3