Probably some repeated questions so thanks in advance

Reaction score
I am looking to buy a Macbook Pro. I have been using the same dell for 4 years. My daily uses are web browsing, music, pictures, papers, etc. I run some processing intensive programs like AutoCAD and have been getting into DJ'ing and video editing so I started using programs like ProTools and Abelton. My laptop has been having issues keeping up and has been giving a lot of problems even after upgrades and repairs so its time for a replacement.

I also want to get back into gaming. WOW, Starcraft II and Diablo III if they ever come out.

I was on the apple site and macmall.com and can't decided which one to get. I know i want the 15 inch but on the macmall.com site there are clearance ones of the older models for significantly less.

How much better is the penryn processor on the new models and what are the other differences between them? More reliable, less overheat issues, etc? Also is the glossy or non glossy screen better? I'm pretty sure if i get the clearance one one i'll be alright. I have been using the same computer now for 4 years and i keep myself updated/upgraded and running well. When are the new macbooks and macbook pros coming out?

Also should I maybe just get a macbook regular? is there a big difference?

Here are the two that i was looking at on macmall.com

http://www.macmall.com/macmall/shop...+Hard+Drive+Notebook-MacBook+Pro&dpno=7256720

http://www.macmall.com/macmall/shop...+Hard+Drive+Notebook-MacBook+Pro&dpno=7256721

The one on the apple site is the entry level 15 inch one with the penryn processor, new touchpad, and the light sensitive keyboard. I'm pretty sure the ones on macmall.com dont have the cool keyboard which would be nice i guess. i could care less about the trackpad.

Sorry for the long post and thanks for the help.

Reaction score
Hi goorav,

The penryn is obviously a step up from the previous chipset, but the previous will of course work just fine.