Researching 12" iBook G4 1Ghz

F

fatman

Hello,

I've been lurking about for several weeks now and I decided I wanted to post to get some feedback.

I’m a 1st year uni student majoring in Accounting.

I’ve been a PC user for 15 or more years, but I have had some Mac experience.

I currently using a laptop – Pentium 4 m 1.7Ghz, 768DDR RAM, 30 GIG HDD, Geforce 2 Go, 8x DVDROM, 14” screen. It’s about 3 Kgs (~6.6lbs) it gets about 2 hours on a full charge. This laptop is not mine but my dads.

I live in Australia and the educational discount of the 12” iBook is great value and all the new updates to the iBook line make it a great all round package. At the end of the month Apple will stop the current 3 year warranty to change it to only 1 year warranty on educational discounts (Australia only, I'm not sure about other countries), so I must make a decision relatively quickly. Although I have enough money for the laptop I don’t want to jump into anything without first researching thoroughly. The $1500AUD price tag may not mean much to some but it does to me.

My main concerns are heat.

I’ve read a lot about this laptop and from what I’ve gathered I came to the following conclusions:

The good – It very portable, light, fast, has a slot loading DVD/CDR combo, good dedicated graphics card, bright screen, good battery performance, keyboard is good, a very nice OS, with recent updates it makes it a great bang for your buck laptop.

The bad- heat heat and heat – heat on the left palm

The ugly- Combo drive is a bit noisy, display has poor response rate and average viewing angles(but being a portable device you can’t expect much)

The only problems I see in this laptop is heat. From what I’ve read, the hard disk drive is located under the left palm rest which gives out quite a bit of heat which can become quite uncomfortable.