Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Web Design and Hosting (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/web-design-hosting/)
-   -   #include for HTML? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/web-design-hosting/50174-include-html.html)

mac57 01-13-2007 02:35 PM

#include for HTML?

A noob web page coder's question:

I am "hand coding" a new web site in HTML, which I have learned by reading the very helpful book "HTML Goodies". Being "self taught", there seem to be a few gaps in my knowledge!

A key one is this. My web site will have numerous pages, and they will all have an identical navigation pane that allows you to move between pages. Rather than copy the HTML code for this panel over and over into each page's source, I would like to write up this page section as a separate HTML file and somehow include into each page's source, rather like the #include directive does in C/C++ source code.

Is there a way to do this in HTML?

Del 01-13-2007 02:40 PM

Then you need to learn php my friend

Code:

<php
  @include_once('name_of_file_to_include');
?>

mac57 01-13-2007 03:32 PM

You may be right! However, for now I will stick to my original question!

Does anyone know how to do this in HTML?

PowerBookG4 01-13-2007 03:35 PM

not possible, there is no #include in HTML code. You could do it via frame sets (which are a bad design mistake) or you can make the nav bar in flash and just embed the flash file at the top of each html page.

cazabam 01-13-2007 08:05 PM

There are a few ways of doing it, the most '#include' like being SSI (Server Side Includes). This is supported by the Apache web server (that comes with OS X) but I'm not sure if it's turned on. It's certainly something to look at if you don't want to learn PHP just to use includes :)

xstep 01-13-2007 10:50 PM

If you're using straight html then you want to look into server side includes.