New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Web Design and Hosting Creating sites, scripting, and hosting discussions.

Newbie question (be gentle)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

burtware

Hello all,

I have been toying with the idea of buying a mac for a long time and now i have decided to just go for it. However, I need to check a few things first.

I am a windows based web developer and I want to run the following setup.

1. A local web server running PHP/APACHE (and possibly MySQL)
2. I need to use a GOOD robust xhtml/css editor, I currently hand code in Homesite on my XP pro machine.

I am very interested in the idea of running a mac mini as a small developer unit. Is it possible to share monitors with a PC using the cable splitter switch ?

Thanks for any responses and that includes ones telling me what a dork I am.

cheers

burt
:headphone :robot:
QUOTE Thanks
MartinAustin

You're a dork, I'm a dork ... we all are! I'm sorry that I don't have the answers you seek, but I am too interested in finding this out. So, here's to (two) dorks finding their answers!
QUOTE Thanks
Murlyn

Murlyn is a name known to allMurlyn is a name known to allMurlyn is a name known to allMurlyn is a name known to allMurlyn is a name known to allMurlyn is a name known to allMurlyn is a name known to all
Mac Specs: MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz Core 2 Duo 4GB RAM OS 10.5.2

1. Absolutely I am a web developer myself and run MAMP, a good site (http://www.entropy.ch)
2. I love BBEdit
3. No idea on this one.
QUOTE Thanks