New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Web Design and Hosting Creating sites, scripting, and hosting discussions.

Anyone help me figure out why php won't run even though I'm using MAMP

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

zipsfan21

zipsfan21 is on a distinguished road

First off I am new to the web design/programming world and this will probably be akin to someone posting to an automotive forum "How do I put a spare tire on?"

So I'm trying to get PHP up and running on my MBP. I am new to programming like I said, however I'm not bad at getting into dreamweaver and making changes to get things how I want to look and can get files saved from there opened via Safari/Firefox just fine. Now I'm trying to run a very basic php script (going through a php for absolute beginners page to start to learn it) just so I can check to make sure systems are all running. I've installed MAMP and it turns on fine and shows as everything working there. However when I open up the script I saved (PHPtest1.php) all the code appears along with text rather then the clean text. I'm not sure if I'm leaving out any info you might need but any and all help would be appreciated as I've just lost a ton of time to figuring out something that by all accounts should be quick and painless. I do have "websharing" turned on in my preferencs.

Here is the script that I try to open (and consequently appears in the broswer exactly this way) :

<html>
<head></head>
<body>

Agent: So who do you think you are, anyhow?
<br />

<?php