New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Web Design and Hosting Creating sites, scripting, and hosting discussions.

PHP/mySQL difficulties on Mac OS X....

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

The Annoyed Man

Boy, I hope somebody can help me in some concrete fashion....

First, the background: I am not an expert at installing these things, and I barely understand any of the discussions I've read here, or on other help forums. However, I have been doing simple coding in PHP and using MySQL for a few years now, and I've been running both PHP and MySQL on my home PC for quite a long time without difficulty. I'm not the sharpest programming knife in the drawer, but neither am I completely lost.

My work machine is a dual processor G5, running OS X 10.3.8 with the webserver that is native to the OS running. I have installed PHP version 5.0.3 (www.entropy.ch Release 1) and MySQL 4.0.23-standard. I have also installed phpMyAdmin 2.6.1, and it is running beautifully. I am able to use it to create databases, tables, and records, as well as to edit existing databases, tables, and records; so I know definitively that both PHP and MySQL are working on this machine. HOWEVER....