New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Web Design and Hosting Creating sites, scripting, and hosting discussions.

Web deployment, ftp & .php: the deliberations of a noob

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

hojkoff_101

hojkoff_101 is an unknown at this point
Mac Specs: Macbook 2.1GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4Gb RAM

Ok, firstly I'm pretty new to web design and am really quite enjoying it so far, but I do have a few questions.

If I sit at my desk and develop a number of webpages, such as

index.html
helloworld.html
contactus.html
main.css

and I stick them all in a folder, do I just upload that folder via ftp to a web server and then the world can see see my website?

If I was to buy a domain name, such as http://www.andy4prez.com am I buying space on a web server as well that I can push the folder to or do I have to pay costs for a web server and a domain name?

With regards to .php files and MySQL, where do I actually put the database? Is that also just added to the folder that gets sent to the web server or do you have to make special provisions for a database, or must it be placed in a special location to function correctly?

Are websites ever made up of .html and .php pages or should that really be avoided?